sister have a short sleep. your last dream be sweet.

Neda

Yesterday I wrote a note, with the subject line “tomorrow is a great day perhaps tomorrow I’ll be killed.” I’m here to let you know I’m alive but my sister was killed…

I’m here to tell you my sister died while in her father’s hands
I’m here to tell you my sister had big dreams…
I’m here to tell you my sister who died was a decent person… and like me yearned for a day when her hair would be swept by the wind… and like me read “Forough” [Forough Farrokhzad]… and longed to live free and equal… and she longed to hold her head up and announce, “I’m Iranian”… and she longed to one day fall in love to a man with a shaggy hair… and she longed for a daughter to braid her hair and sing lullaby by her crib…

my sister died from not having life… my sister died as injustice has no end… my sister died since she loved life too much… and my sister died since she lovingly cared for people…

my loving sister, I wish you had closed your eyes when your time had come… the very end of your last glance burns my soul….

sister have a short sleep. your last dream be sweet.

H/T Urban Infidel

6 thoughts on “sister have a short sleep. your last dream be sweet.

  1. Rachel Corrie that useless, terrorist enabling, tool has plays written about her. Neda will not be so commemorated.

    • Ah, though, paladin –they said something like that about Mary Jo Kopekne…..and I have never yet forgotten her name, nor her unborn child…..

      • Whenever Teddy is in the news making bullying, obnoxious pronouncements, I always recall James Taranto’s (of the Wall Street Journal’s ‘Opinion Journal’ blog) rejoinder “Mary Jo Kopechne was not available for comment”.

  2. I pray Neda’s death will not be in vain, but her spirit and those others who fight for freedom the cornerstone of a new democracy.

Leave a Reply

